Snapchat Adds “Memories”: SAVE AND REUSE YOUR CONTENT!

Jul 10, 2016 381
Published in Technology

Saved content will retain all the geofilters, timestamps stickers and anything else added at the time of composition.

Rate this item
(0 votes)

 

To access your Memories, you click on a new icon at the bottom middle of the camera screen and drag up to reveal the new section.

 

This takes you to a whole new area of the app, with all your previously saved snaps available to search, view and re-use.

 

The new section is divided into: 

  • “All” shows you a listing of all your saved Snaps. Rectangular posts are individual snaps; circular posts represent stories.
  • “Snaps” shows you individual Snaps only
  • “Stories” shows you stories only
  • “Camera Roll” enables you to access your phone’s entire camera roll
  • And “My Eyes Only” is a private, password protected section where you can store your more intimate images 
  • There’s also a search option which you can access by pressing on the magnifying glass in the top left of screen.

 

Snapchat’s also added in an automated tool which can identify reportedly hundreds of objects in your content, a capacity Snapchat plans to build over time. To start with, you can search for things like “sunsets”, “surfing” or “ocean” and the system will be able to identify such within your content.

 

The main use case for these memories is to show memories to friends while you’re hanging out together, but you can also re-use your saved Snaps.

 

To do so, you simply press and hold on any of your old content which opens a new editor screen.

 

You can edit your old stories then re-send them to specific friends or re-upload them for all to see. All of your previous additions, like geofilters and stickers, can be edited and moved around to make them into ‘new’ Snaps. You can also add Snaps to a story, or create a new story of your memories.

 

If you share a saved Snap within 24 hours of shooting it, it’ll appear like any other, but if you do so after that 24 hour window, it will show up with a white border around it and a time stamp, signifying that it’s an old Snap.

 

This is to ensure that Snapchat content remains fresh – if you’re just re-posting old content, that could take away from the immediacy and intimacy of the app, which is what much of Snapchat’s popularity has been built upon. With older content clearly flagged with the white border, it’ll mean Snapchat can maintain that freshness and focus on newer material, as opposed to peoples just regurgitating their greatest hits.